80cm dish for 3cm band suffered damage

This dish has been up for some years and gets a real battering in the gales. I had noticed it was aiming a bit upwards, out of alignment.

On closer inspection I found the mounting bracket had suffered some metal fatigue:

Also the dish itself (pressed aluminium) had started to crack around the heads of the mounting screws:

I took the dish down, so I am off the 3cm band for the time being. 

It was only earlier this year that I fixed the electronics so that I was back on the band! But now the mechanics have failed. Perhaps having a box of electronics mounted on the back may have added to the stresses of wind? I accept that the dish has survived for some years and through bouts of terrible weather. It has been in a very exposed position, sticking out above the ridge off the roof. These bog-standard satellite dishes probably last quite well, mounted lower down in sheltered locations.

Hear is the 80cm dish in prime condition, just before I put it up on its pole. So the dish must have been up 5 years or so. That is a lot of wuthering. Wuthering Heights!

I may have a more robust dish which might take its place. 

Leave a comment